Two days under my belt…

Heading up to the first few days of school there were a lot of nights spent lying awake with monologues in my head of everything I wanted to say to my students. Sometimes I’d turn on the light and jot down a couple notes; other times I’d simply repeat lines over and over in my head until I could force myself to begin the mantra of “sleep. sleep. sleep.” My emotions were as varied as the winds in the Sahara… every hour a new feeling prevailed. Sometimes forced confidence. Sometimes terrific fear. Sometimes quiet calm. Sometimes “breath deep” and “just do it.” Day to day a new slogan would pop in my head, and it got to the point where I really wanted to write my own theme song like Jess does in the previews for a new fall show “New Girl.” Something like, “who’s that new teacher, reaching kids and raising test scores? It’s Katie! It’s Katie!”

Ridiculous, yes. Healthy? I also think yes. My journey to this point was challenging, but in my heart I know I’m ready. And by the end of day two, I was shaking with adrenaline and giddy and feeling like maybe I can do this after all.

I know not every day will be like the first two days. That’s why I thought it important to document them. I’ll need something to look back on after I’ve had a day that makes me question if I’m on the right path… there will be many days like that. Of this I’m sure.

But days 1 and 2? They were good days.

I can do this.

This entry was posted in teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Two days under my belt…

  1. Sarah Miller says:

    YOU’RE AMAZING, KATIE! Congratulations on your first two days! I’m so unbelievably proud of you.

    (Plus, your theme song is the best.)

Leave a comment